Just The Facts Ma’am

Some background:

What I really want to do is dive right into everything I have been thinking about and working on the last couple of months. I want to just get it out of my head and splatter it all out on the page. That is what this blog is for, after all. Before I go skyrocketing off, however, I feel like it makes a lot of sense to spend a little time laying the foundation. Setting up the stories, if you will, and filling in a little background.

So, I am going to start with a little bit about myself. I am 38 years old living in the Midwest. I was married, and have been divorced for a couple of years. I have a very good job, (though it is a little stressful right now,) and am President of the Board for a local nonprofit that I am passionate about. I have a loving boyfriend, a nice, (though old,) house, a sweet dog that I love to death, and a little cabin in the woods. I also have a caring family. Though my father is gone, (he passed away several years ago,) my mother is still well, and I see her fairly often. I have a wonderful sister, brother-in-law, and two adorable neices. I am also fortunate to have an amazing network of incredible people that I am lucky enough to call my friends. All in all, life is very good.

This blog is not to complain about my life. I know that my life is filled with an abundance of riches. This blog is more about finding my purpose. A few years ago, I had a some very focused goals. During that time, I was incredibly intent on my life – and every moment in it. I had to be. (I am sure I will be writing more about this later.) Anyway, when that time of hyper-focus ended, I allowed myself to relax. I decided to take things easy for a bit, and just focus on the day to day. That was okay – I needed that then. In some ways, I still need it now- but I can see a time ahead when that won’t be true. Currently, I am very tied to my life the way it is. I don’t have room for a lot more.  Yet, I see a time in the next year or so when some of these things will lighten up – where I will have a lot more flexibility.

Here is the problem: when it comes to responsibilities, I am like a magnet through iron shavings. I have a tendency to pick up things without even noticing, and then they are almost impossible to shake off. I don’t want to do that mindlessly anymore. What I want to do, and the reason for this blog, is figure out some goals for myself. I want to decide what I want to focus on – rather than letting life choose for me. If I know where I am heading, I will know what to say yes to – and what not to.

Ideally, I would like to have some five and three year goals. I would like to turn those goal into a rough plan for the next few years. I don’t need to set things in granite, I just need to have something I am working towards. I want to figure out some ways to make things a little better, to find things to look forward to. I need to create a plan.

I am not in a rush. This is a journey, and an important one, if I am going to use it to map out 5 years of my life. I am going to let the planning process take however long it takes, and chart it all out here, on Long View Hill.

Leave a Reply

