Please, Just a Little More Time

We are never so happy or as unhappy as we imagine.
La Rochefoucauld, Maxims 1678

Tuesday night I had a glass of wine with a great friend. I told her, “I just want three weeks. Three weeks snuck in between today and tomorrow; that’s what I want.” I’m not talking about a vacation. Vacations are lovely, but time doesn’t stop while one is on vacation. You come back and there is just as much (if not more) work waiting for you when you get back. I am not dreaming of a magical three weeks because I want to work on my tan. What I want is time to get things done – to mow the yard, weed the garden, read a book, clean my house from top to bottom, and so forth. I want time to do all the things that need doing, without interrupting the rest of my life. That isn’t too much to ask, is it?

I’ve been working on the concept of acceptance. When it comes to house and home, I want things a certain way, and frankly, I have a hard time when they are different than how I imagine they should be. It makes me twitchy when the lawn is too long, when the counters aren’t clean… when there are mini tumbleweeds of dog hair building in the corners. I have been trying to tell myself that these things are natural – grass grows, counters clutter, dogs shed. I also try to console myself with the fact that I was busy with X or was working on Y, but even though those things are true, it doesn’t change the fact that the lawn needs mowing.

There is one solution, of course. There isn’t much that can’t be solved with large amounts of cash. I could hire a gardener, a house cleaner, and a dog walker. I can pay my handyman to do house repair projects and hire an organizer to come clean my closet, but I don’t have that kind of money. Besides, it isn’t that I don’t want to do these things myself, it is simply that I don’t have the time. I actually love gardening, and throwing on the tunes and scrubbing the house.

So, what I need to do is set priorities and create routines that help me get things done. Maybe I’ll have time to do that… tomorrow.

One thought on “Please, Just a Little More Time

  1. Pingback: Big Questions | Long View Hill

Leave a Reply

