Big Questions

Some thoughts:

– What do I want to do with the rest of my life?

I have a good, sort of basic job in a small office handling accounts, sales, marketing – that kind of thing. I work with a good group of people, receive decent wages and benefits, and have comfortable hours. This company has taken very good care of me over the last 13+ years. I cannot say it is exactly what I thought I would be doing at this point in my life, but priorities change. The question is, is it what I want to continue to do for the next 13 years? If not this, what do I want to do and how do I get there?

 – How about volunteering?

There was a time in my career that I struggled with my job because I wanted to do something that “mattered.” I wanted to give back; be a part of a charity or nonprofit that I deeply cared about. Eventually, however, I realized I didn’t need to switch careers to reach that goal.

Currently, I serve as President of the a Board for an arts nonprofit that I am deeply passionate about. I feel like I am making a difference and I have one year of my term left. After which I do not expect to leave the Board, but my responsibilities will lighten. (This is a good thing. The arts are a demanding mistress. It takes up a lot of time.) So, what do I do next? Do I keep the status quo, are there other things for this company I can do? Or do I try to use my volunteer time for something different all together – something for myself?

– Do I stay or do I go?

I always thought I would move to another city. I always thought something would call me – a job, a love, a desire to live in another climate – something. Yet, here I am, in the same city where I was born. I am okay with that, I like it here and have a tremendous network of friends and family, but depending on my career choices, where I live may change. Am I open to that? I always thought so, but I really don’t know anymore.

– The house.

Even if I continue to live in my current city, do I want to keep living in my current house? I have mixed feelings about my house, that I swear, change day to day. Some days I love it, some days I dream about moving to a condo in a high rise, with less maintenance and less aggravation. I can’t sell it in the current market (not for what I have into it,) but I am just starting to see homes in my area listed for roughly what I paid for mine. I don’t see myself going anywhere for awhile, but I’m not sure about the future. How much I decide to invest in the house and what upgrades I choose to do, depends on how long I am going to commit to live there.

– How do I get more done?

I am continually frustrated by my lack of time. As I wrote in the last post, I need time outside of actual time. Until someone discovers how to open a time space continuum for me though, I think I am out of luck. So, what I can do to insure that I (for the most part) have the time I need to do the things that are important to me?

– What kind of woman do I want to be?

I believe that one of the keys to happiness is to be constantly growing, learning and stretching our boundaries. I think one of our jobs as adults is to keep educating ourselves. When life is really busy though, this is one of the first things to go out the window. I certainly haven’t been doing much of it lately. But I think it is important, so what do I want to learn and study? Should I go back to school? If not school, then I can create my own curriculum, but I need to know my goals first. Do I want to learn all the bird calls in the Midwest? Learn another language? Expand my cooking skills? Get a Master’s degree? The answer is yes to all of these – but if I am going to do any of them, I need to focus on one of them.

These are some of the big questions rolling through my head. I think if I can answer a few of them, the others will start falling into place. Once I have that, I can set goals and make plans. First though, I need to pick a place to start.

Leave a Reply

