Things Are Taking Shape

I just changed my tag line. It was Thoughts, Musings, Plans and Reflections which honestly, felt a little mushy to me – too amorphous. Okay, that is what I am doing here, but it doesn’t say why. I think it was because I didn’t have a clear picture of it myself.

However, after the last couple of posts, things are starting to become a little clearer. I could see a shape and direction to this blog, which is coincidentally, to put shape and direction to my life. Here are some of the concepts I was playing with, you can see my thought progression:

Setting Goals

Pursing Happiness

Making Order

Looking Ahead

Finding a Good Fit

Answering the age old question, “Where do you want to be in 10 years?”

Self Improvement

Creating a Life

The Next 20 Years

The Next 20 Years – my goals, the journey, and discovering who I want to be.

The Next 20 Years – discovering how I want to live.

The Next 20 Years – Becoming the Woman I Want to Be and the Life I Want to Live.

Becoming the Woman I Want to Be and Discovering the Life I Want to Live

Interesting, eh? I really like the idea of putting a 20 year goal out there, but I didn’t like the way it looked in the tagline. (It made the words wrap.) Besides, I turn 39 in September so really this should be “Where I Want to Be in 21 Years or So” and that didn’t feel right either. So, I took it off for the tagline, but I think I will keep the concept.

I like the idea of putting some hard time frames out there. What do I want my life to look like when I am 60? When I am 50? When I am 45? How do I want to be living? What do I want to be more of? Less? And as importantly, Who do I want to be?

That last question deserves a post (or six) to itself, so I won’t try to answer any of this today.  For now I am just going to be happy in my accomplishment of starting to define my purpose. I like that.

2 thoughts on “Things Are Taking Shape

  1. I love that you’re asking “who do I want to be”, and I love that that is an ever-growing and evolving answer. My question is…..how do you build a 10 or 20 year plan without locking yourself into something that may be wrong for you in a few years? I mean, once you’ve put a lot of time and thought into your 3,5,10+ year plans, do you find it hard to open your mind to different opportunities? Or is it easy for you to accept that at any moment in your life, the path might change?

  2. Right now I find the idea of having a plan incredibly exciting and, as weird as this sounds – freeing! I think keeping flexibility in mind is going to be key, as well as being sure to review and evaluate where I am at on a regular basis. You are right in that I will have to make sure that I don’t feel trapped by it. But getting rid of a few options feels like it allows me to focus on others. For example, I am (for the first time in my life) pretty sure I am going to be in the same city for the next 20 years. That alone has solidified my thinking.

    I guess if I am at the crossroads, I am ready to pick a path – if it isn’t the right one, I will double back, but at least I’ll be moving.

Leave a Reply

