Unexpected Treasures

Do you know what this is?

It could be heaven.

It could be heaven.

It is a train full of books.

That’s right… it is a Train Full Of Books!

Now, there are many things I love, and two them are trains and books. A train full of books? Blows my mind.

And it is right here, in my city (Okay, in a neighboring small town suburb of my city, but still… in my city.) and I didn’t know about it. It’s been there for years! This train is attached to a tiny building that seems to defy the laws of space and time and is far larger inside than it appears, and is also full of books.  …and a couple of cats. (Named Zelda and Dickens.) It’s kind of a magical place.

Here’s the point – I keep thinking about traveling. I’m coming up on 40, and while the number doesn’t scare me, it does make me think about all things I have always wanted to do. One of those is travel. I keep finding myself dreaming about traveling to Norway or flying to Alaska, sitting by mountain lakes and exploring foreign cities. I want to go places, see things, have adventures!

Then I look at this photo and think – there is a whole lot, right here in my hometown, to experience yet. I drive by weird, funky restaurants I want to try all the time. We have scores of our own odd shops and interesting and beautiful places. My city is full of galleries, museums, and parks. And when I run out of exploring those – there are all sorts of quirky and fun towns all around me in easy driving distance.

It isn’t that I don’t think I am ever going to travel – I will. Presently, however, I have a limited budget and pretty intense schedule. So, the big trips will come, but until then I am going to try to find adventures right here in my own backyard.

 

 

Leave a Reply

