Health and Wealth

Seed by the yes man

“Life is not mere living but the enjoyment of health.”
– Marital, Epigrams, 1st Cent. A.D.

Weight Loss and Jump Fund Update:

I had a wonderful weekend. Perhaps inspired by the Dave Wood quote I posted the other day (“Instead of waiting for your two week vacation every year, why don’t you create a life you don’t have to escape from?”) I treated the weekend like a vacation – I read books, I napped and I relaxed. I also did some of the things that make me happy: I had a great hour long talk with one of my dearest and closest friends, I took several long rambling walks with my dog, and got to spend some time with my boyfriend. I also took care of a number of projects that have been on my “to-do” list for awhile. Those types of things don’t make me happy exactly, but they do give me a sense of of satisfaction.

My weight loss continues to go well. I am really happy with the way things are progressing and I am finding that I have a lot more energy! At first I thought it was just increased stamina, but I haven’t significantly changed my exercise. Now I think it is more because of how I eat. I’ve cut out a lot of white flour products, not because I can’t have them, but because the “cost ratio” of the calories is too high. (I’d rather eat vegetables – I get to have twice as much and they provide more nutrients!) I think that has effected my blood sugar. I am having a lot fewer dips in energy, and just generally feeling better. Of course, not carrying around a extra stone of weight doesn’t hurt either.

My other project for the next couple of months is to track my spending habits, looking for ways I can improve things. I am creating a Jump Fund, money set aside to create a better and happier future. This weekend I found a way to to combine the two! On Saturday I decided to try my hand at selling some clothes by consignment.

Since I have been losing weight, my clothes are getting pretty big on me. I work in an office and have some fairly nice things. Rather than just trying to get a couple of bucks for them at a garage sale or just donating them outright, I thought I would see if I could use this as an opportunity to put a little extra money in my fund. I have several great consignment shops around me, so I decided to try it out. I picked out four name brand items that were that were in great condition that I had tried to wear last week but had found were too big. Instead of driving to the shop, I put them in a bag and walked over. The shop took three of the four things to try to sell, so we will see how it goes!

I then hiked over to my local organic grocery. I was out of eggs and wanted to do some cooking over the weekend. From the grocery, I walked home. Total distance? 1.84 miles. Normally, I would have I driven to both of these places, but it felt good to walk instead. I saved some gas and burned calories at the same time!

Seeing the actual distance, it seems a bit pathetic that I would have driven before, but I think I tend to exaggerate distances in my mind. I knew these places were within walking distance – I walk by them all the time with my dog. But, to go to both, planning on having to carry things? Yeah, I would have driven. But a good sturdy bag and some good shoes were all I really needed.

I figure that every single time I can walk somewhere rather than drive, I am adding to both of my goals. It makes me really grateful that I live in an awesome, vibrant neighborhood in a great city.

 

Photo credit: the yes man

 

One thought on “Health and Wealth

  1. Pingback: Selling and Buying | Long View Hill

Leave a Reply

