Looking Fit

Healthy Summer Snack by lindaaslundI wrote the other day that I don’t have a set goal for my weight loss. That’s still true, but yesterday, I got a glimpse of of it.

I was at the gas station. There was a gal at the pump across from me who was cleaning out her car while the filling up her tank. She was roughly 10 years younger than me, and obviously was currently, or had been, involved in sports. She was wearing a big college style sweatshirt (though I didn’t notice if there were any logos on it), short running shorts, and running shoes. Her hair was piled up in one of those “I am about to kick some butt at Volleyball” messy buns.

She was very pretty, but that wasn’t what I noticed. The first thing I thought when I saw her was, “That woman is fit.” Fit was the perfect word. She was thin, but you wouldn’t say super skinny. Her legs were really muscled, not perfectly cut or anything, but you could tell this gal had power. Just the way she carried herself was impressive. Her shoulders looked strong, like whatever sport she played used upper body strength too. She wasn’t wearing much makeup, but she had a glow about her. A little bell went off in my head and I thought, “I want that.”

I want to feel good in my body. I want to feel fit, strong, capable. I think a lot of us that are trying to lose weight concentrate on the health aspect of it, which is awesome, but let’s be honest here, there is also a physical component that is important. I not only want to feel healthy, I want to look healthy.

I don’t know what that is going to take. I’m not taking up sports, (I wrote about why awhile ago.) And truthfully, what I am talking about isn’t even looking like an athlete per se’. It is more about not only taking the weight off, but also keeping up with the things I have started – running and weightlifting – to make my body look better. It might mean adding in other new things like taking a class or joining a gym. Honestly, those don’t sound that appealing to me right now, but I am trying to keep my options (and my mind) open.

What I am not doing is letting my asthma, my weight, or my excuses get in the way of that anymore. This is an achievable goal, and someday there is going to me some woman creepily checking me out at the gas station and thinking, “Yeah… that’s the look I want.”

Photo credit: lindaaslund

Leave a Reply

