Well, This Isn’t Working

Run Twelve – 

Exactly.

Exactly.

Remember the children’s book, Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day? Well that was Run Twelve: the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad run. I know why though, and I know how to fix it.

The problem? I went for a run in my neighborhood. It happened on a weekend, and it always just seems easier to run right in my own neighborhood. You know, throw on the shoes and head out the front door. There is a problem, however, I get bored in my neighborhood. Not just bored, I get boooooooooooooooooooored.

I know my neighborhood like the back of my hand. Hermes and I have walked every inch of it. We’ve been down every side road, alley, and sidewalk. We’ve explored all the neighborhoods, parks and shopping districts. When he and I are walking, I kind of zone out and daydream. However, I am too new to running to be able to daydream properly. Instead I find myself thinking about the run – thinking way too much about the run – and my neighborhood doesn’t have enough interesting things to distract me.

That’s one of the reasons I like parks. They are safe, pretty, and admittedly, slightly monotonous, but not too much so. There are still interesting things to see. In a park, I am distracted – in my neighborhood, I am not.

So, Run Twelve didn’t go well. I found myself frustrated, angry and bored. I just had a great run a few days before, so I knew what was going on. I ended up power walking most of it and just chalking it up to a lesson learned. From now on, I am going some place to run. It doesn’t matter which park, I am going to go where I can enjoy myself. Maybe once I am a regular runner I can hit my neighborhood streets again, but for now, you’ll find me jogging down the walking trails instead.

One thought on “Well, This Isn’t Working

  1. Pingback: Can Running Intervals Actually Be… Fun?!? | Long View Hill

Leave a Reply

