Keep On Moving

x ray by marioanimaI just read a great article on Fit, Feminist and (almost) Fifty on the myths behind exercise and joint pain. If you are over 30, this is definitely worth a read: Aging and the Myth of Wearing Out Your Joints.

While I am nearly 40, I haven’t really thought about much about my age in relation to my joints. I’ve never considered myself an athlete, in fact, for most of my life I avoided exercise as much as possible. In fact, if I were to think about it at all, I think my joints are elated that I have taken off as much weight as I have. They have a lot less to deal with now!

But as a new runner, I keep hearing about injuries: how to avoid them, what injuries people have, all that kind of thing. It is almost enough to make me think twice about getting started. Reading this article though, confirmed that even with the risk of injuries and joint pain, you are better off moving than sitting still. I can do that!

Photo credit: marioanima

Leave a Reply

