Promise Kept

Run Sixteen

I didn't have a photo for this post so I bring you these spring flowers instead. (Photo credit: El Frito)

I didn’t have a photo for this post so I bring you these spring flowers instead. (Photo credit: El Frito)

I did what I set out to do. I swore I wouldn’t run in my neighborhood again – and I didn’t!

I may not swear off running in my own neighborhood for ever, but I am finding as a newbie runner that I am so much happier out at a park. I am more productive and less frustrated. I only ran in my neighborhood on the weekends because it seemed so easy: just slip on the shoes and go. But it wasn’t easy, it was aggravating. I need the mental stimulation a change of scenery can provide.

Well, I stuck to my promise; for Run Sixteen I was tempted to run at home, but I got my butt in my car and headed over to River Park instead! Turns out it’s within 10 minutes of home – and the short drive was totally worth it.

It was cold and windy, the kind of day I am growing to love for running. It was fairly early in the morning and the only other people out and about were runners like myself. My running plan had me doing 20 minutes of 1 minute intervals, plus I always start with a 5 minute warm up walk, just to make sure the gear is all in place, the shoes feel good and so on. Total time out was 26 minutes.

I had a great run, after a while I warmed up and the cold didn’t bother me at all. I actually ran the best time I’ve ever run. Granted, it is still too early for me to worry much about speed, but I can’t help but at least look at see how I did.

So, the plan is to keep going – keep going to new places, keep trying new things. It seems to be working so far!

Leave a Reply

