I Want ALL the Fruit!

Fifty of these, delivered immediately, will be a good start...

Fifty of these, delivered immediately, will be a good start…

I’ve been craving fruit – incredible quantities of fruit. I can’t stop eating it. It’s like I have an insatiable hunger for fruit. In the last week or so I have eaten:

  • Apricots
  • Cherries
  • Raspberries
  • Strawberries
  • Oranges
  • Clementines
  • Peaches
  • Cantaloupe
  • Watermelon
  • Pears
  • Apples
  • Kiwi
  • Mango
  • Nectarines

I’ve eaten several of these in one day, in fact, several in one sitting, and still I want more fruit!

Usually when I have a craving, I can guess why. When I am low on iron I crave red meat. When I am low on fatty oils I crave avocados and tuna. When I am low on happiness and the ability to punch people, I crave chocolate. Right now, it’s fruit.

And as you can see, it isn’t even any particular kind of fruit. It’s pretty much whatever is looking good at the store. I’ve put away countless clamshells of raspberries and strawberries and an entire cantaloupe – by myself. Okay, it wasn’t a very big cantaloupe – but still!

Is my brain craving something sweet? Is my body craving fiber? Is my immune system craving aid against a cold? Is my heart craving summer?

It’s not that it is a bad thing. This is an easier craving to indulge in than say, exotic caviar, and far better for me than the great Funions craving of 2011, but still… it doesn’t stop! See, the thing about all of my cravings is that, up until now, usually once I give in a bit, the craving goes away. This time it is like I am a bottomless pit of fruit yearning. I know there are all sorts of health gurus that say that the whole “Fruit is nature’s candy” thing is literally true – that we should moderate our intake of all sugar, including natural ones. I’m not worried about it though, I am sure it is temporary thing, and I am still getting lots of proteins and fats. So, nothing to do but ride it out.

Now, if you will please excuse me, I need to go buy a honeydew.

One thought on “I Want ALL the Fruit!

  1. Pingback: Cutting Out Cravings | Long View Hill

Leave a Reply

