Rough Roads

Bumpy Road by Hiroshi MiyazakiA few weeks back I was getting down on myself because I hadn’t been able to work out the way I wanted too. It was one of those periods where I was having problems squeezing everything in, and I was getting pretty discouraged with myself. It seemed like every moment of free space was taken up.

Then, while walking Hermes, it hit me that I work out every single day. That seems like something you should know, right? But in my case, it was such a part of my routine that I didn’t include as working out. I’m talking about dog walks, of course. And it cracks me up that in the middle of mentally beating myself up for not working out, I looked around and said, “Heeeeeyyyy wait a minute… I’m working out right now!” As, I’ve written before, Hermes gets walked about a half hour in the morning and another at night (a little longer on the weekends or when the weather is really nice.) So, almost every day I walk between four and five miles.

I realized in that moment that I was being silly for beating myself up. Instead of looking at it that way, I needed to turn it around and feel great about every extra workout I can get in – not be upset about the ones I can’t. I was walking every day, running two to three times a week and lifting weights three times a week. It wasn’t everything I wanted, but it was pretty solid.

Then life kind of exploded.

Shortly after this incident, a bunch of things happened all at once. A very important person in my life passed away. My freelance work became very busy. Then my day job got extremely busy. Then the nonprofit Board that I am on got some news that kicked us into high-gear super planning mode. On top of all this, I had to be out of town for work for a week. Then, when I get back, and things start to settle down, my dog Hermes was injured. My lunch hours started consisting of me running around taking care of freelance and Board business, my evenings filled with more freelance work. Plus, Julian is moving this month and I really want to help him if I can, as well. June quickly became a month of priorities. People I loved and things I cared about needed me. Working out and eating well had to go even further back on the burner for awhile.

You know what? That’s okay. I am working out because I want a better life, but sometimes a better life means I can’t work out. I can accept that as much I would like to be a woman who has her routines, that there are times those routines need to go out the window. It’s hard, because I read fitness blogs that get me motivated and I have all these goals and things I want to try, but I have decided that fitness is going to be a way of life for me, which means I have plenty of years ahead to get those goals. Not everything has to happen right now.

The trick, (and it is a tough one,) is not to let momentary departures from the path completely derail me. I have some things that help though. Writing here in my blog makes me want to get back out there, as does writing in my daily journal. Hermes is definitely on the mend and we are starting our walks again. They are a lot slower and a bit shorter than they were, but just the act of getting out there makes me want to do more. I also have some things I that love doing – namely kayaking and my boxing DVD. They are so fun and I love them so much that it doesn’t feel like chore. I miss them when I can’t do them.

It would be nice if life was smooth and easy, or at least if life could space out the bumpiness so it didn’t all hit at once, but it just doesn’t end up that way. All we can do is take one moment at a time and do the best we can.

 

Photo credit: Hiroshi Miyazaki

 

One thought on “Rough Roads

  1. Pingback: Getting Back in Running Shoes | Long View Hill

Leave a Reply

