Getting Back in Running Shoes

rain on my windshield

View of Creek Park out my windshield. It was a little damp out there.

As you may have been able to tell from my recent posts, I haven’t been able to go for a run in what feels like forever. There have just been far too many things going on. Sad, but true.

However, Wednesday turned out to be a great day for a run. Julian and I had plans, but not until later that evening. The weather was gray and cool, with occasional rain showers, which I find ideal for running. So, after work that night, I changed into running gear drove over to Creek Park… and just as I pulled into the parking lot, the skies let loose.

It wasn’t just raining, it was gushing giant, massive, fat raindrops, each big enough to soak you through. I don’t mind running in a little rain, but this was too much. I didn’t give up though! I could see plenty of breaks in the clouds, so I turned on an episode of The Story Collider, and kicked back. Most of The Story Collider’s podcasts are about 15 minutes long, so I figured I would give it one episode and see where we were.

Sure enough, in 15 minutes the sky cleared enough for a run! Out I went!

It was a great run – far better than I expected. Since I haven’t been able to go in weeks, I had resigned myself to having to start pretty much at square one. I planned a run of easily intervals, just to gauge where I was at. It went really well – far more smoothly than I had a right to expect. Not where I was a few weeks ago, certainly, but definitely not square one.

I think that happens to a lot of us – we get out of our routine or training schedule for whatever reason, and if it goes long enough – we are scared to get back into it. We’re afraid of how much we’ve lost. I’m guessing it keeps a lot of people from getting back into it, I know I was tempted to give it up. Fortunately this blog helps keep me going – and I am glad it does; instead of feeling bad about missing a few weeks, my re-entry run was so good that I brought my gear to work again today, and I am hoping to hit the road again tonight!

2 thoughts on “Getting Back in Running Shoes

  1. I didn’t run for a week when my daughter was born. I was so scared I was never going to be able to run the same way again. And even though I had lost a ton of sleep and really felt out of it, I still ran, and it felt great. 😀

Leave a Reply

