The Very First Mile

one mile markerI did it! I ran my first mile!!!

Okay, I have been running for awhile now, but always intervals. So, while I have run miles, they have always been interspersed with walks. I’ve been following a running guide for a local marathon, though admittedly, I’ve been taking my long sweet time about it. Sometimes I repeat one step several times before moving on. I had gotten up to 4 minute runs interspersed 1 minute walks. When I glanced at my guide for the next level, it suggested 1 minute walks / 1 mile runs. You would think they would get you up to 8 minute runs or something first, but nope! 4 minutes – then the full mile!

So, that’s what I did! Like much of the country, we’ve been under a heat wave, but it finally broke this weekend. It’s still hot, just not quite “just opened the door of a steam bath” deadly muggy anymore. According to the weather app on my phone it was 81, but my outdoor thermometer said it was 89. So whatever it was, it was still hot. I drove over to one of my favorite parks by the river to run. It has long straight loops along the waterfront and great breezes come up off the water. It’s a perfect place to run, especially in the heat.

I got to the park, set my Run Keeper app and away I went – 1 minute of walking, followed by 1 mile run, then repeat. I didn’t push it. I ran at a fairly average speed for me. I wasn’t sure how it was going to go, so I took my time. And you know what? It went great!

When I was done, I was beet red, sweaty and tired, but not completely exhausted. In fact, I felt like I could have kept going. Despite the temptation, I thought it was better to leave with some energy still in the tank, so I grabbed my water bottle and towel and went to cool down by water. The first thing I did was text Julian to let him know. As I did, a wave of happiness washed over me… I just ran a mile!

Due to asthma and other complications, I’ve never run that far before (at least not all at once.) Not as a kid and certainly not as an adult. I still can’t say that I am completely in love with running, but I like the confidence it gives me. I feel great, inside and out.

So, I am going to keep on plugging away and keep on running! Let’s see what other new records I can set!

4 thoughts on “The Very First Mile

Leave a Reply

