The (almost) Two Mile Run

Two Miles

…ish

I (almost) ran two miles! All at once… well, sorta. When I wrote yesterday about running my first mile, I also mentioned that I am following a training guide from a big local marathon. Well, the next step after one mile, was two! (Again, I would have thought they would have ramped it up a bit slower, but there you go.)

I had mixed feeling about the run. On one hand, I was mentally pumped to go out and try it. The single mile had gone well, and so had the one one following it, so I felt pretty confident. Yes, I had separated them with a one minute walk, but I was pretty sure I could do it. On the other hand, I could tell my body was really tired. I hadn’t slept very well the night before and my body felt weighted down and sluggish. I only have so many nights a week I can run, however, so I decided to go for it. (Besides, the only bad workout is the one you didn’t do, right?)

I picked a different park to run in. Like the one from yesterday’s post, it is along the river, but this is a much bigger park. It’s really well shaded and has extensive running / biking / walking paths. Even when the park is busy, it is big enough that it doesn’t seem crowded. Since I knew my body was tired, I wanted to keep my mind active by changing the scenery. It is no fun running bored!

A view from along the river.

A view from along the river.

No surprise – it’s hot here. Temperatures are in the mid eighties. Still, there was a nice breeze coming off the water, so it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. In fact, the first half of mile was easy. I ran well and felt well. The next mile after that though, I started feeling it (and sweating like crazy.)

I almost made it, but just before the 2 mile marker, I couldn’t go anymore. I switched to a walk. For the last .25 I switched back and forth between walking and running. I’d walk for a few seconds, then run for as long as I could, then back to walking. So, I still went the whole 2 miles, but there are parts of it that I walked.

When I got done, however, I realized that I had achieved my fastest time – even with the walking! That makes sense in a way – even though I walked, it was least amount of walking I’ve done. It surprised me though, because I really thought I was taking it easy. I was trying to go a little slower on the first mile so I had something left for the second. It didn’t quite work out that way.

That’s okay though – it is all about learning, right? The point is that even though I walked part of the way, I didn’t walk much. I am pretty sure the next time I go out I can do the full two. I’m going to get a rest day in though, so I am a little better prepared!

Leave a Reply

