A Good Run and Some Ducks

I had an awesome run on Friday for a whole bunch of reasons:

Pictured: my knees and some sleeping ducks. Not pictured: another thirty or forty sleeping ducks off the right frame of this photo.

Pictured: my knees and some sleeping ducks. Not pictured: another thirty or forty sleeping ducks off the right frame of this photo.

1.) I hit my best time ever. I’m not planning on racing at this point, so time doesn’t really matter, except that by tracking my time I can tell that I am getting stronger and building more endurance. I like taking a look at my pace, weighing it against how I felt at the end of the run and seeing the changes. Not long ago, the idea of running a couple of miles would have been completely out of the question. Now, I’ve done it several times, and I keep getting better! I’m really excited by that – it’s like I never really knew what I could do before. My body is a lot tougher than I thought.

2.) I am now over 25% in on my 100 mile goal! I thought it would take a long time to hit that goal. I keep plugging away at it, though, and I suspect I am going to hit 100 miles a lot sooner than I thought! Again, there is nothing riding on this goal. I picked it as a distance that would be a stretch for me, but that felt doable. I just didn’t expect to be this far, this fast! Part of that is because…

3.) Friday was my first successful “three in a row.” I’ve mentioned before that I only have so many days week I can run, so this wasn’t the first time I tried going three consecutive days. However, the last time I tried doing three in a row it was back in spring – and it didn’t go well at all. By the third day I was tired, frustrated and slow. This time I felt great and ended the run tired, but strong. (And again, with my best time yet!)

After the run, I rested on a picnic table down by the river with a bottle of water and my towel. All along the water’s edge were ducks. I thought (being at a park) they were going to try to hit me up for bread, but nope – they were settling in for the night. They popped their heads up briefly when I sat, then settled back in to sleep. We hung out together, the sleeping ducks and I, until it was time to go home.

Leave a Reply

