The Art of the Squat

bootcamp-squats

Hmmm… I’m pretty good at the first position.

So… I kind of suck at squats. Being able to do good, clean, low squats is one of the challenges I have set myself, and I am working on it… but I have a long ways to go. The problem is the back of my legs. I’ve always walked on tiptoe, even as a little kid. My parents used to tease me about it when I first started to learn to walk, but even today, if I don’t have shoes on, I am likely to walk on my toes. It’s just one of those things. So, naturally as an adult, I love high heeled shoes. Over time I have tightened the back of my legs so much that flat shoes aren’t really comfortable to me. Thus, keeping my feet flat during a squat is a serious challenge. (I can squat like a son of a gun with heels up!)

Right now I am using the book The New Rules of Lifting for Women for weight training, and sure enough, there are squats involved. I’m working on them though. I’ve used chairs to help get myself in the right position, worked on one legged partial squats which don’t require me to go as low, but are still a good workout, and lately I’ve been doing them with weights. Having weights in my hands really does help. I’ll get there eventually – I’m determined. In the meantime, if I look a little like a cross between a duck and a weeble-wooble, I’m okay with that. After all:

"only the fools end up being cool" by we wander & wonder

“only the fools end up being cool” by we wander & wonder

One thought on “The Art of the Squat

  1. Pingback: I’ll Take All The Help I Can Get | Long View Hill

Leave a Reply

