A Great Article on Meditation

Meditation Labyrinth by Nancy McClureAs you know, I am working on getting meditation back into my life on a daily basis. It just so happens that Dale Favier, a Message Therapist who has a blog that I follow, put up a great article last week about what to expect (and what not to) when starting meditation practice.

Here’s a quick excerpt:

Confessions

[] The thing to bear in mind is that it isn’t sitting down and being quiet that has made you nuts. You were already nuts. Sitting down and being quiet has just given you the chance to notice that you’re nuts. Your mind is doing that all the time. All day, all night; a ceaseless fret of worry and desire, fantasies of the future and replays of the past, a constant evaluation of everything in terms of what it means about me. What does the fact that I’m sitting down to meditate mean about me? What does the fact that my mind won’t settle down mean about me? What does the fact that I’m worrying about what things mean about me mean about me? It rolls on that way, playing out as dream at night, playing out as “reality” in the daytime. []

If you have thought about meditation, you should pop over to his blog and read the whole thing, it’s a great article.

As for me, I am doing pretty good at getting back into practice. Mostly I meditate at night before bed, but I’m also experimenting with lunch hour breaks and after work outs. I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

Photo credit: Meditation Labyrinth by Nancy McClure on flickr

Leave a Reply

