Step By Step

walking“My grandmother started walking five miles a day when she was sixty. She’s ninety-seven now, and we don’t know where the heck she is.”

 – Ellen DeGeneres

It’s been a month since I started using the Lift app to try and build some daily habits. Over the next couple of days, I thought I would update you on how things are going.

I really like using Lift. [A quick recap: the concept behind Lift is simple, you select your daily goals and when you do them, you check in. Other folks on Lift who are working on their own goals can see what you’ve done and give you “props” for your achievements. It’s fairly simple and it’s a free app.] I find it motivating and it’s helping me get on track, especially with exercise.

I’ve been exercising fairly regularly for awhile, but I haven’t had much of a set schedule. My goal this summer was strength training three times a week and two to three runs a week, with anything else I could fit in between. As it got colder, and is now pitch dark by the time I get out of work, I was becoming less motivated. So, I set myself a simple goal, fifteen minutes a day. It doesn’t matter what I do, my goal is to make sure that I get at least 15 minutes of extra exercise in a day. (I say “extra” because this means above and beyond my normal twice a day dog walks.) Before I would sometimes do my weight lifting on the same day as a run, but nothing the next day and so on; now I wanted to be more deliberate about it.

The main reason? Entropy. “A gradual decline into disorder.” I was afraid that a few days off would lead to a week off, which would lead to a lack of motivation to get out there at all. Setting a 15 minute a day goal is my way to make sure that Old Man Winter doesn’t derail my fitness plans.

What I’m finding is that I am doing a lot more walking. Squeezing extra time in my morning and evenings can be tough, but during the week I always have a lunch hour. One of the ways I’ve been hitting my 15 minute goal is by power walking on my lunch hour. While technically I could just go for 15 minutes, I never do. If I head out, it’s always for at least a half hour and up to an hour, depending on the weather and how fast I can eat my lunch. (If work is slow I can eat at my desk while working, if things are busy, it’s best I take a complete break.) I’ve been enjoying it so much that I even walk on my lunch hour if I’ve already run or did my weight training in the morning! On perfect days I walk for forty minutes and then sit in my car for twenty while listening to a meditation podcast. It gets me out of the office, in the fresh air, and some time to just sit and be still before going back to work.

The weather does make the whole thing tricky though. I live in the Midwest, the weather changes on a dime. I’ve added warmer socks, a fleece headband and a hat to the gear I carry in my car. (I already had an extra pair of running shoes, gloves and a jacket.) I’ve started wearing tights under my work pants and if I am wearing a long skirt to work, I bring along a pair of fleece leggings. It sounds like a lot of work, but really it’s just planning. Like a Boy Scout, I like to be prepared!

On the weekends I love to get in runs when I can, but sometimes it just doesn’t work. My solution? More walking. I just tack on extra time to my dog walks! I’ll go an extra 10 in the morning and 5 at night or some other combination to get my 15 minutes in.

All this was why I really glad to read this article on gokaleo.com: Walking for Health and Fitness. Yes Walking. She’s got some great ideas in here, and I am intrigued by the idea of adding some weight. Maybe not for lunch hour walks, but perhaps to the daily dog walks? Still working it all out, but I’m pretty happy so far with the way things are going!

 

Photo credit: Megan Ann on flickr

3 thoughts on “Step By Step

  1. Pingback: Lost Dreams, Found | Long View Hill

Leave a Reply

