Lost Dreams, Found

Sleeping with the animals“What would an ocean be without a monster lurking in the dark? It would be like sleep without dreams.”

 – Werner Herzog (1942 – )

I am using the Lift app to build some daily habits. One of those habits is getting enough sleep. I’ve written before about how I do best with a full eight hours of rest. It isn’t easy, what with being busy at night and trying to get up and exercise in the mornings, but I’m finding that using Lift helps me stay on track. It pushes me to think ahead and plan out when to be in bed and when to set the alarm.

I haven’t hit the full eight every night. Sometimes it just doesn’t work out, but in the last month that I have been working on it, I have gotten more consistent rest than I have gotten in years. And I’ve discovered something interesting – I’m dreaming again. I didn’t realize it, but I had lost my dreams. It wasn’t until they started to come back that I realized they’ve been gone.

I am known for having epic dreams; dreams with plots, characters, special effects and even the occasional musical number. These are full color, massive dreams, and dreams that I can (to some degree) control. In these dreams I am other people – men, women, children, even animals or beams of light. These are to the “went to work naked” dreams what Beowulf is to the Roses are Red poem. I’ve been having them since I was child, but I haven’t had one in a long time.

They are starting to come back.

Oh, I’ve had some dreams – I wrote about one I had about kayaking recently, but they’ve been simple, short dreams, not the monsters I have known in the past. The last few nights however, I’ve been getting glimpses of big dreams. I’ve had some that were loosely looped and hooked together like a child playing with yarn. I’ve had some that started to take me deep down into the brine, before letting up. It appears that my epic dreams come only under certain conditions, and one of those is copious amounts of sleep. A month of good rest isn’t quite enough, almost, but not quite. It will take more. I’m getting there.

With the resurfacing of my dreams, I feel creativity stirring inside of me. I think the two go together. Again, I haven’t missed it, I’ve been focused on other things, but I find myself thinking about drawing again, making things, building projects, at the very same time I’m starting to dream again. I can’t help but think they are connected.

I wanted to get more sleep for my health, but I think it is doing far more for me than I ever anticipated. It makes me look forward to night.

 

Photo credit: “Sleeping with the Animals” by Jonf728 on flickr

Leave a Reply

