You Can’t Always Get What You Want

This is not my photo, but it shows exactly what it is like here.

This is not my photo, but it shows exactly what it is like here.

Like much of the Midwest, my fair city has been hammered with ice and snow. Last week Friday we had an ice storm that was so bad I couldn’t go to work – the police closed the street that my office is on. On top of the ice has come snow. We certainly had a true “White Christmas.” Lots of folks have been spending a whole lot of time complaining about it, and certainly, the driving has been pretty rotten at times, but I’ve been enjoying it. It reminds me of the winters we had when I was a kid. Plus, each time Hermes and I go for a walk, I’m struck with just how gorgeous it all is. It really is breathtakingly beautiful, especially the rare times when the sun is shining.

I have an odd situation at work. It looks like there is going to be some fairly large changes in management in the next two to three years – possibly as far out as five years. It has the potential to be fantastic. I think we need a fresh perspective, and this might be exactly what the company needs to go to the next level. Of course, there is always a danger with change. It doesn’t always work out the way you want.

I’ve felt a bit stagnant at work for awhile now. I’ve written about it here and there on the blog. I love a lot of things about my job, but one of the things that has kept me here as long as I have been is movement. It seems every few years things get totally changed around, rearranged, and though it’s a crap shoot as to how it will turn out, it’s always been interesting. Sometimes it has gone well for me, other times not so much. It’s not about me personally as an employee, it’s about the economy and our market and so on. Starting fresh in new areas of the company has kept me on my toes, and I like that. So, for the most part I look forward to whatever is coming down the road.

However, I’ve been at this same company for nearly 15 years. It doesn’t escape me that if things go sour, I am stuck with some very specialized skills. It’s time to change that. I have decided to pick up some new skills at work which will help the company, but also help me develop my own abilities. I have signed up for a bootcamp class for one of the big marketing tools we use – information that will assist me in my job now, and will increase my own worth as an employee. It’s a bit of a juggling act, but I have been gifted with an incredible opportunity. For once I know about the change ahead of time, so I can anticipate it, all the while building my own value and skills. I can use everything I learn for the betterment of my present company, but if push comes to shove, I can take the knowledge with me to the next one.

At least, that’s the plan. We’ll see how it goes. It’s going to be a bit tricky writing here about what I am doing, because I want to be very careful not to “out” myself. I love having the freedom and space to write here and share my journey with you, dear reader. I don’t want to compromise that, but I will share whatever I can. Long View Hill was  always meant to be a place where I contemplate the future, and I am certainly in the heart of that now!

What about you? What are your plans for the New Year? Any big changes on the horizon?

Photo credit: Kris Hirst on flickr

 

2 thoughts on “You Can’t Always Get What You Want

  1. I’ve always made a concerted effort to compartmentalize, putting fence around my work-life and not “allowing” it to mingle with my. . .uh. . .real life. But, guess what. The futility of that effort became clearer and clearer over time. So, now I don’t try to enforce that discipline quite as strictly as I once did. Hey, it all rolls into one sometimes – like it or not. I loved reading about your work philosophy and the stimulation that change can bring. To that I say, me too. I like those new circumstances and the notion of what they may portend. Speaking of that: yes, changes are on my horizon. Just when I thought I had settled in and only had myself to manage, chances are I will soon have a flock of 10 or so experienced colleagues to shepherd. Will go from being one of them to gently herding them. We’ll see how that goes. And this to you – so good for you to keep learning and growing, especially with distinct objective(s) in mind. There is learning for learning’s sake, but with maturity there comes learning with a purpose. Go for it, my friend!…….Happy New Year!. Nick

  2. We had a green Christmas here, but no complaints as the snow is on the mountains — which is close enough! 2013 has been a huge year of change for me, so I’m looking forward to building and consolidating in 2014. All the best to you on your new work challenges!

Leave a Reply

