It’s My Anniversary! (But I Don’t Have Time for it!)

on the scale.jpg.jpgToday is my anniversary. On January 15th of last year I decided to start doing something about my weight. On this day last year I started using MyFitnessPal and began figuring out how to lose some of my extra poundage.

I really wanted today to be special. I wanted to write a long post about where I have been and what I have been through. I’ve been planning it in my head for weeks – but life doesn’t always go as expected. I mentioned that I have a lot going on in my job right now, and frankly, I am still up to my eyeballs in it. I hired a brand new employee who will be starting Friday while at the same time I have to be prepping for a trade show, not to mention new management above me and a whole bunch of other changes – let’s just say that it’s a lot on one little plate!

Since I don’t want to give up the chance to write about my journey this year, I’ve decided to move my anniversary. That’s right, it’s my anniversary and I can move it if I want to! If I can’t have today, I have another date in mind:

The trigger last year was a doctor’s appointment. I’ve had asthma since childhood and this was a routine check-up and prescription refill. Actually, it went really well. I haven’t needed to change anything in years – my meds stay the same. In the course of congratulating me for keeping my asthma under control, the doctor also mentioned that I was the same weight I was seven years prior, when I first started seeing him. He meant it as a compliment, but it got to me. It was the exact moment I realized that if I kept going exactly the way I was, I would stay the way I was, but if I wanted something different, I needed to do something different.

Seems obvious, doesn’t it?

It hadn’t been, though. On January 15, 2013 I took the first step and downloaded an app to track calories. I also made a commitment to myself to try. This year has been the result.

I have another yearly appointment with that same doctor coming up, on Valentine’s Day, nonetheless. That seems like a perfect anniversary! Over the last year, I’ve found a lot of love for myself I hadn’t had before. So, I am using the next month to clean up my work schedule a bit, even things out a bit, and in a month, I’ll be ready to write that anniversary post.

In the meantime, I might be a little scarce over the next couple of weeks, but I am still here and I have lots and lots to write about!

5 thoughts on “It’s My Anniversary! (But I Don’t Have Time for it!)

  1. Pingback: Winter Goals | Long View Hill

Leave a Reply

