A Different Point of View

Strong by Scott SwigartIt took me a little while to understand why the post: 10+ Reasons I Love My Ugly Body hit me so hard. I hadn’t read her blog before, I found it on a link from Fit, Feminist and (almost) Fifty on Friday. I’m pretty happy with the way my body looks, overall. So, it wasn’t that I felt particularly close to the author or that I completely identified with her, although like most women, I certainly have things about myself I wish I could change.

I think the reason her post put giant tears in my eyes and made me catch my breath was that it directly addressed something I have been dealing with myself. I’ve mentioned that I gained some weight back in January. I’ve been trying to ditch it, but I haven’t had much success. It’s been really upsetting to me, and I think I am starting to connect the dots as to why. It’s not really about the weight exactly – sure, I wish some of my clothes fit a little better and I liked the way I looked last summer, but a few extra pounds do not look bad on me. I’m upset not about the weight… I’m upset because it is effecting my confidence. I feel like I should be able to just do what I did before and it should come off. But it hasn’t.

This probably wouldn’t be a big deal, except that I have gone through several confidence busting incidents in the last few months. When you start to feel like you can’t even control your own body the way you did before, it eats at your faith in yourself. My weight loss and fitness was something I have been rather proud of, and lately, it’s been slipping. It’s hard when other things in my life are in the same boat. There is a lot of “what is wrong with me??” kind of thoughts going on.

But Andrea turns it around, she celebrates all the things that her body can do that it couldn’t do before. And seriously, look at some of the amazing things she can do! She is a badass!!I mentioned I just achieved a personal record in weight lifting the other day, and honestly, I feel like I have a lot more in me. What if I relax a little and instead of beating myself up, give myself a little credit for all that I can do now – and for all the goals I have in the future? How would that feel?

I think I’ll give that a try.

 

Photo credit: Scott Swigart via flickr

4 thoughts on “A Different Point of View

  1. The hard part about self acceptance is feeling it even if we are not at our preferred weight or fitness level.
    To appreciate all we can do.
    This is a hard concept for me. To be happy where I am, not when I get to where I want to be.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  2. I’ll have to check out the original article. I’ve noticed a huge difference just between losing weight at 25 and 28– that might sound stupid, but honestly I could drop so quickly when I was 25. I’ve regained some of that and it’s taking a lot longer to get rid of. I like the idea of celebrating the things my body can do that it couldn’t do before though, that’s a better way to approach it.

    • No, that doesn’t sound stupid at all! Our bodies do change. Some things are easier when we’re younger. Since I’m an old lady *cough* of 40, I’m trying hard to keep perspective. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

