Giving it a Try

By Lara CoresI am taking my own words to heart from my post yesterday and celebrating what I can do now:

My first boxing class is Sunday!

Sunday!

Obviously, I am a little excited about it. I’m a little nervous too – first day of school and all. I’m really hoping I like it as much as I think I will.

If not, there are other options. I just saw a local Crossfit gym running a special for a free month of unlimited classes, and it looks pretty interesting. There is a rock climbing gym that has caught my eye, and I would love to take some more hooping classes too.

…when did I become this girl?

My boyfriend and I recently had a discussion on how losing weight has opened up new worlds for me. Not that long ago, I would have politely declined any invitation that had to do with the word “gym.” Now I am bookmarking local gym websites and trying to decide if trying two new places at once is all that bad of an idea. (I decided it was.) In truth, it wasn’t that I couldn’t do these things before, it was that I wouldn’t. My way of accepting my body previously was to be very, “this is who I am.” I don’t exercise, I don’t own a scale, I don’t go out in the sun, I don’t play sports, I don’t dance… and so on. And all of those things were true. However, as I changed my body, I started trying new things. What if I try running? What if I take a hoop dance fitness class? What if I try lifting weights? It isn’t that I am changing who I am, it is that I am opening up more doors and seeing what’s behind them.

I’ve thrown out a lot of the “don’ts” and replaced them with, “I’ll give it a try!”

 Photo credit: Lara Cores on flickr

 

Leave a Reply

