DOM da da da DOMS!!

Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness? Yes, indeed.

Someday....

Someday….

My Boxing class did a number on my muscles. Pretty much everything between armpit to knees was sore. I say armpit deliberately – my arms, wrists and shoulders were fine. I think since I’ve been lifting some weights, I’ve been using those muscles. Everything else? Yowsa – not so much.

I took care of myself after the class, and I am glad I did. I had thought for one quick minute about walking to the gym, (it’s a 20 minute easy walk from my house,) but I didn’t know how tired I’d be afterwards – which turned out to be a good call. Not only was I a hot sweaty mess with a beet red face, I was so tired I didn’t even want to drive! I just sat in my car with the windows rolled down and sipped from my water bottle for awhile. Thank goodness I hadn’t walked!!

When I finally got home, I took a long shower and then put on some of my favorite summer comfy clothes. I had tons of yard work I wanted to do, but instead I made some great food and relaxed the rest of the day with a good book. I made sure I drank a lot of water throughout the day and even went to bed at a pretty reasonable time.

Every muscle that you use to do a squat? Sore. Inner thighs, glutes, and abs? Sore. Sore. Sore. It’s okay though. It feels like my body just took a highlighter and circled all the parts of me I haven’t been working or stretching enough. As long as I keep moving, (walking the dog, doing things around the house,) I feel pretty good. It’s only when I sit for extended periods that I stiffen up a bit. Unfortunately I have a desk job, so Monday was a little rough.

Will I go back? Of course. I am already signed up the Intro to Boxing Class (the one I should have taken first) for next Sunday!

I can’t wait!

Photo credit: Rikard Elofsson on flickr

Leave a Reply

