Intro To Boxing – Round 2

boxing glovesOn Sunday I took Intro to Boxing. Last week I accidentally took the standard Boxing class, thinking it was the Intro course. Because it was a very small class TI (the instructor) let me go ahead, but he strongly suggested I go back and take the Intro class. I enjoyed the standard class, but it seriously kicked my butt. This week I took the class I was supposed to take first.

It was great. We spent time on the jab, upper cut and hook, and of course, all the footwork. Half the class was air punching and working in front of the mirror to learn technique, the other half was at the bags. I loved every minute of it – even the ones where I had no idea what I was doing! In fact, I enjoyed it so much, I wish they taught Boxing in a traditional class format, where you build each week on what you’ve learned, rather than one Intro class and then dive into the regular classes. I also really liked some of the gals that took it with me. I hope I run into them again, we had a good time swearing and sweating and trying to remember to keep our shoulders loose.

My favorite part? TI taught us a combination and then put on mitts so we could actually strike his hands instead of the bag. It was a blast!

(I’ve already signed up for my next class!)

I can’t say why Boxing appeals to me so much. I don’t want it for self defense, and there are plenty of other fitness / martial arts classes out there. There is something about Boxing, though. Every time I think about it, I feel happy. …which is why I am thinking about it a lot. I had an appointment with my doctor about my depression/anxiety. She went through some questions to rule out different causes (like thyroid) that can effect people in similar ways. We talked about a variety of options, she is willing to try medication, but I said I would like to try therapy first. So, we’ll see how that goes. Until then, she gave me a thumbs up on my coping mechanisms – time with friends, time in the gardening and Boxing.

 

Photo credit: Generation Bass on flickr

Leave a Reply

