What Do You Do When Your Trainer is Sick?

Hermes in his crate

This sucks.

This is my little buddy. He’s having some problems with his back and his vet has ordered him on crate rest for a few weeks: no walks, no playing, no stairs.

As you can see, he has a pretty cushy recovery pad. I’ve put a soft blanket in the bottom and another favorite blanket over the top to help him rest. He has company, his favorite stuffed rabbit is in there with him, and he even has a treat. It doesn’t matter though – he hates it. Even in this photo when he is too drugged up on pain killers to really care, he hates it.

I don’t blame him, I hate it too.

If you’ve followed my blog for awhile you know this is far from the first health problem my little guy has had.  In fact, considering some of his other issues, this is pretty minor. I’ll pamper him for awhile, give him some meds to help with pain, and we’ll get through this. But what Hermes and I love the most is to walk, and he can’t until the doc gives the okay.

I spend so much time walking Hermes that it feels wrong not to walk him. I mean, I know that this is just temporary and it has the goal of helping him heal, but walking is our way of being healthy. It’s as though someone told you the best solution for your broken leg was to eat a bunch of chocolate. In this case I know it is the right thing to do, it just feels strange.

During the week, I typically walk Hermes for roughly an hour a day. On the weekends we usually greet the morning with an hour walk and take another half hour one at night. In other words, we cover a lot of miles. Now I am going to have to do it without him. And that is the question…

Am I going to get the same amount of exercise without my pooch? I didn’t walk him this morning, since I could tell he was hurting. Instead, I did some weight lifting and worked in the garden while waiting for it to be time to go to the vet. This afternoon I walked for an hour on my lunch hour. I feel like I have today covered. But what about next week? It feels strange to think that I don’t have to get up at 6:30AM to walk. I honestly don’t know right now if I will try walking solo, take a morning bike ride, sign up for some morning classes, or just sleep in. It could be a strange couple of weeks.

One thought on “What Do You Do When Your Trainer is Sick?

  1. Pingback: Biking Adventures | Long View Hill

Leave a Reply

