Depression is a Jerk (And So is Anxiety)

Storm clouds by nicgep114I wrote about my excitement in getting a compliment from the instructor in my boxing class on Thursday, but what I didn’t tell you that a few weeks ago I skipped class. At the time I didn’t think that much of it. I love this class, but I had woken up that morning tired and sore. My body felt sluggish and every muscle ached. I figured I had just overdone it a bit and maybe needed a break. But a couple of days later when the next class came up, I still felt the same way. I didn’t want to go to class. In addition to feeling exhausted and painful, I was also afraid. I was afraid I wouldn’t make it through, that I would get sick or even pass out. I talked to my boyfriend (who, remember, is studying to be a therapist) about all this and he agreed that it could be that I was just overworked, but then he said something I didn’t know, “Or it could be your depression. Depression causes body aches.”

What?!? I guess I remember seeing some tv commercial for some drug that helped with body pain associated with mental health issues, but I hadn’t understood what that meant at the time. I said to him, “So, exercise is good for alleviating depression, right?”

“Right.”

“But depression can make your muscles ache… so you don’t want to exercise?”

“Yep.”

“Depression is a jerk!”

And depression is a jerk. Anxiety is too. What do you think it was filling my head with visions of throwing up in class? Anxiety. Both depression and anxiety actively work against activities that make things better – it’s almost like they have their own willpower. That’s what’s tricky about these two. Usually I can tell when I am struggling with them, but in this case they hid themselves in something else, everyday muscle aches, the kind of thing I get on a regular basis. Grrrr….

Julian encouraged me to go to my class this time. He reminded me that this class is like “medicine” for me. It makes me happy, boosts my mood, lets me work off my stress, and so on. (We all know the benefits of exercise.) As such, I should go as often as I could. And so I went. It wasn’t a great class, but it wasn’t a bad class either. I didn’t throw up, or pass out and I made it through just fine. But that is one of the things I didn’t understand before I had to deal with depression and anxiety, that they work against your very efforts to get well.

Jerks.

 

Photo credit: nicgep114 on flickr

Leave a Reply

