I Suck at Pilates – and I Like it Anyway

The studio where I take my boxing classes offers a lot of different fitness classes. I decided awhile back to buy a three month unlimited membership, so I can go to as many classes as I want. I wrote awhile ago about trying Pilates for the first time. I went again last week.

So far in all the classes I have taken there have been a few people who are older or less in shape than I am. Not so in Pilates. The gals (and so far it has all be ladies) who take this class look like they are all in their 20s or early 30s and are super fit. In fact, I’ve come to realize that I am the older, less fit person in the room! I should note that there is absolutely no reason why men or anyone else shouldn’t take this class, it really is a great workout. The studio where I go seems to have a really nice cross section of ages, races, and genders, and I see it in other classes. Perhaps it’s that Pilates has gotten a bad rap? Maybe that’s why women who all look like former dancers take it? (Or perhaps 2 classes isn’t much of a sample and I’ll see something different when I go the next time.) In any case, I don’t actually mind being the “older” “kind of out of shape” woman. The fact is, I suck at Pilates.

And I don’t care.

It was something like this - but without the ball, and our faces were down. That whole thighs off the mat thing? Not happening.

It was something like this – but without the ball, and our faces were down. That whole thighs off the mat thing? Not happening.

That’s kind of a new thing for me. I tend to be an overachiever. I like to be in the top percentile. However, as I continually find in all my fitness adventures, that just isn’t going to be the case for me. I did not grow up doing sports and I’ve never been anything like athletic until very, very recently. Also, bendy, I am not. In fact, you could say that between an ironing board and I, the board is going to have the easier time in Pilates! At one point the instructor led the class through a pose I could not do. Normally I can get (sorta) close, perhaps with a modification, but this time I just laid there. I was trying – with all that I had I was trying – but nothing was happening! (Everyone else was able to do it, naturally.) Instead of being frustrated or angry, I just started cracking up – my face planted in the mat.

The beautiful thing about being bad at something is that there is only room for improvement. I am enjoying “the beginner’s mind”, as they say. I mean, why not? As adults it is too easy to get hung up when we aren’t good at something. Instead, I am just going to enjoy the process – or the bridge position – as it were.

However, I also tried “Glow and Flow” yoga, and that didn’t go so well. There were a lot of weird things going on though. First of all, there was a fill-in instructor. Secondly, it was the first time I had taken two classes in a row. They offer yoga right after boxing and I’ve noticed that a lot of people do multiple classes. So when I saw someone staying for yoga after boxing one week, I asked her about it. She said, “It is great for stretching out all the muscles we just pounded together.” I liked that idea, and the following week, I stayed. I ended up being at the back of the room, and usually when I take a new class I like to be right up front. However, there were several of us from boxing staying, and I ended up near them. (Honestly, I get so sweaty during boxing, I thought it would be good to be by “my people” rather than risk offending the noses of the yoga-only crowd.) The acoustics in the studio are kind of rotten, which is one of the reasons the instructors normally wear head mics, but, of course, that seems too tech for yoga. Net result? I was super tired from boxing so I couldn’t think, plus I couldn’t really hear, I couldn’t really see, I didn’t know what I was doing, and frankly, neither did anyone else. You could tell even the die hards were struggling to follow along with the instructor. Nothing wrong with her, but it wasn’t their usual. There was a whole lot of looks that clearly said, “Umm…. what? Oh… okay.” So, it wasn’t fun. But again, that’s okay. I don’t have to like everything. I won’t write it off based on this one experience, I’ll definitely give it another try, but if it doesn’t click for me, I am okay with that.

 

 

One thought on “I Suck at Pilates – and I Like it Anyway

  1. Pingback: Yoga Expectations – BLOWN! | Long View Hill

Leave a Reply

